Madeon talks working with Lady Gaga

In a recent interview with Idolator, Madeon was asked about how it was like to work with Lady Gaga in the studio, a rumoured song called “Tinnitus”, and more. Read below!

What was it liking working on Lady Gaga’s ARTPOP album?

It was awesome. It was a great experience for me, definitely. She’s a very, obviously insanely talented PERSON. She’s a great vocalist, a true, real songwriter. She’s great. It was very impressive to me and inspirational, but also, she cares a lot about everyone that works with her. I felt like she respected me, and that was very meaningful. She doesn’t work with tons of producers all the time.The way I approached it was to trust her judgements and be a tool in her process to execute her vision. I didn’t want to come in and try to make it a Madeon song. I wanted to make sure that it was a way for her to express her ideas. If I worked for someone different, I would probably have a different approach, but I felt like I came in, started working on the album, like halfway through it’s completion, so it already had an identity.

It wasn’t my role to define it, you know what I mean? That’s how I approached it, but I saw her again recently. I saw her performing the songs we had worked on together live, and it was very, very touching to me. Overall, it was a very important experience for me.

I think “Gypsy” was the best song on that album.

Thank you, I think so too.

Is there an unreleased song? There’s a rumor about a track called “Tinnitus.”

Pretty much everything we’ve worked on has been released. I don’t have, how can I word that, I do not PERSONALLY have any copy of a song with Lady Gaga singing that’s called “Tinnitus.” I don’t have it.

How is it working with Lady Gaga different to say Coldplay?

It’s quite, first of all, it was a much longer process. We worked together for way longer, but as I said, I have to keep in mind who she was and try to understand what she wanted to do to make sure I was helpful in accomplishing her vision. I think when you work with an upcoming artist, or something like that, you may have more of a possibility to assert your identity, and help them find their identity.I think, now, if I were to work with Lady Gaga right now, I would do it very differently, I think, because I’m more confident as a producer. It was an insanely meaningful learning experience for me working with her.

Responder

